North America

United States of America Asks Citizens To Avoid 14 Nigerian States

Barrack ObamaAs the world remembers the terrorist attack of September 11, 2001 on the twin tower in the United States, the US government has enforced a restriction on its citizens from travelling to fourteen Nigerian states.

The US embassy in Nigeria in a message to its citizens posted on its website said because of safety and security concerns, the U.S. Mission in Nigeria is enforcing a restricted travel policy for U.S. Embassy personnel to the states of Adamawa, Bauchi, Borno, Gombe, Jigawa, Kaduna, Kano, Katsina, Kebbi, Niger, Plateau, Sokoto, Yobe, and Zamfara.

It said U.S. citizens should be mindful of this and consider taking similar steps when planning travel.

The statement reads in part, “Spontaneous demonstrations are also likely to occur in these and possibly other areas within Nigeria in response to heightened tensions in the Middle East, as well as the lead up to September 11. Regardless of where demonstrations might occur, U.S. citizens should be aware that even demonstrations intended to be peaceful can potentially turn confrontational and escalate into violence without advance warning. U.S. citizens should avoid areas of demonstrations, and exercise caution if in the vicinity of any large gatherings, protests, or demonstrations.

Source: Osun Defender

Anthony-Claret Onwutalobi
Anthony-Claret is a software Engineer, entrepreneur and the founder of Codewit INC and CEO of Portia Web Solutions. Mr. Claret publishes and manages the content on Codewit Word News website and associated websits. He's a writer, IT Expert, great administrator, technology enthusiast, social media lover and all around digital guy.

Leave a Reply