Nigeria News

NIGERIA: Suswam submits list of 12 commissioner-nominees to Benue House

Governor Gabriel Suswam of Benue StateAfter close to five weeks of speculations, Governor Gabriel Suswam of Benue State, Wednesday, submitted a list of 12 nominees to the Benue State House of Assembly for screening and confirmation as commissioners and members of the State Executive Council, EXCO.

In a letter dated April 2, 2013, Suswam said the nominations were made pursuant to “Sections 14 (4) and 192 (2) of the 1999 Constitution.”

A break down of the list showed that seven of the nominees were among the commissioners sacked by the governor on February 1, while only five were fresh names.

The names of the nominees, as contained in the letter entitled “Nomination and confirmation of appointment of honourable commissioners,” and addressed to the Speaker of the House, Terhile Ayua,  were: Messrs John Ngbede, Eugene Aliegba, John Tondo, Orduen Abunku, Alexander Atime, Donald Amokaha Gboghul, Egbiri Idah, Anthony Onuh and Justin Amase.

The three ladies who made the list include Mrs. Elizabeth Ugo, Elizabeth Allagh and wife of an erstwhile deputy governor, Mrs. Comfort Ajene.

Suswam, in the letter said that he undertook to effect changes in his cabinet in order “to reposition the executive arm of government to meet the aspirations of the people of the state,” as well as because of his desire to “consolidate on the infrastructural development efforts so far recorded by my administration so as to improve on the lives and well being of the good people of Benue state.”

Leave a Reply