Nigeria News

NIGERIA: Imo lawmakers sign notice to impeach Dep Gov

Imo State Deputy Governor, Sir Jude Agbaso.Only 10 of the 27 members of Imo State House of Assembly have reportedly signed the petition for the impeachment of Imo State Deputy Governor, Sir Jude Agbaso.

Our investigations revealed that the signatories, who are mainly loyalists of all Progressives Grand Alliance, APGA, includes Adaku Ihuoma, Donatus Ozoemena, Ikechukwu Amuka, Mike Ndubuaku, Emeka Nwafor, Luke Chukwu, Acho Ihim, Eudora Igwe, Victor Mere and Victor Ndunagu.

According to the petitioners, “the ground for the said petition is solely on the fact that the Deputy Governor, Sir Jude Agbaso, has committed gross misconduct by allowing his personal/pecuniary interest to affect the lawful performance of his duties as Deputy Governor and Commissioner for Works.”

The lawmakers equally alleged that this act not only contributed to the economic adversity of the state but also made it possible for the state to lose money directly under his watch.

Meanwhile, the lawmakers have passed a motion authorising the Sergeant-at-Arms to serve the impeachment notice with particulars of misconduct on Agbaso through substituted means.

The House authorised that the notice be pasted on the gate of his official residence and door of his office at Government House, Owerri.

It was also gathered that the impeachment notice was crafted pursuant to Section 188(1) 1999 Constitution, as amended.

Leave a Reply