Nigeria News

Nigeria FG approves 25 Justices of Court of Appeal

Abuja — President Goodluck Jonathan, yesterday, approved the appointment of 25 Justices for the Court of Appeal.

This is contained in a statement signe by Mr. Soji Oye, Acting Director, Information of the National Judicial Council, NJC.

It said the approval followed recommendation by the council chairman, Justice Aloma Murkhtar.

The Justices are: Hamma Barka, Gombe; Joseph Jella, Taraba; Bitrus Sanga, Bauchi; Muhammed Mustapha, Borno; Yargata Nimpar, Gombe and Sai’idiu Hussein, Kogi,

Others are: Mudashiru Oniyangi, Kwara; Amina Wambai, Niger; Ridwan Abdullahi, Nasarawa; Tani Hassan, Kano; Muhammed Shuaibu, Jigawa; Musa Alkali, Kaduna; Jamilu Tukur, Katsina; Paul Elechi, Ebonyi and Ugochukwu Ogakwu, Enugu.

Included also are: Nonyerem Okoronkwo,Imo; Joseph Ekanem, Akwa Ibom; F.E. Oho, Delta; Abimbola Adejumo, Edo; Bolokuromo Ugo, Bayelsa; Biobele Geogewill, Rivers; Oludotun Adefope-okojie, Ogun; Misitura Bolaji-Yusuf, Oyo; J.O.K Oyewole, Osun and E.O Williams-Dawudu, Lagos.

The statement said the appointment was in line with the new Court of Appeal Act as amended that stipulates an increase in the number of Justices of the Court from 70 to 90.

It said the appointment was also to fill the vacancies occasioned by the demise, retirements and elevations of some Justices.

The statement said the Justices are expected to be sworn-in on March 24 by Justice Mukhtar.

Anthony-Claret Onwutalobi
Anthony-Claret is a software Engineer, entrepreneur and the founder of Codewit INC and CEO of Portia Web Solutions. Mr. Claret publishes and manages the content on Codewit Word News website and associated websits. He's a writer, IT Expert, great administrator, technology enthusiast, social media lover and all around digital guy.

Leave a Reply