Nigeria News

Akure: Six Princes File Applications for Deji Stool

As the people of Akure are looking forward to the selection of a new king for the ancient town, six  princes from the Osupa ruling house have signified their intentions to fill the position.
The six princes include a United States of America (USA)-based businessman, Kole Aladetoyinbo, an Akure-based  businessman,  Kayode Oke Adegite,  and  a Commissioner in the Ondo State Judicial Commission, Oluwole Ogunsuyi.
Others are Femi Adejuyigbe, an Akure saw-miller,  Air Commodore Leye Alabi (rtd), who is now a businessman based in Lagos and Kayode Oluwole Abewajoye, a popular presenter with the state-owned television outfit, Ondo State Radio-vision Corporation (OSRC).
The six princes, it was gathered, had already notified the leadership of the ruling house of their ambitions.
The stool of Deji of Akure became vacant following the demise of Oba Adebiyi Adesida on December 1, 2013.
Since the late Deji was from the Ojijigogun ruling house, to which Adesida royal house belongs, it is expected that the Osupa ruling house should produce the next king, in line with the 1990 Chieftaincy declaration concerning the Deji stool,
In order to ensure a rancour-free selection, the  ruling house had appealed to the contestants and other stakeholders to abide by the tradition and culture of the people, so that the status of the monarchy is not diminished.
In a statement  signed by Dr. Adebimpe Ige Ogunleye and Adebayo Adeleye, the Chairman and Secretary of the ruling house respectively, they also appealed to “all Osupa sons and daughters to allow peace to reign and shun any act capable of denting the image of our house.”
Equally, the statement disclosed that a committee headed by the former Secretary to the Federal Government and Afenifere  chieftain, Chief Olu Falae, himself an Osupa prince, had been put in place to resolve any grievance that might arise from the selection process.
The committee also has aa members, a former Commissioner  for Information in the state, Olu Adegboro, Adeuya Oluwatuyi, Kayode Ajomale, Adebanjo Adeleye.

Leave a Reply