Nigeria News

NIGERIA: FG shuts 5 unity schools over Boko Haram attacks

ABUJA— Following the recent terrorist attack on a Federal Government College in Yobe, which claimed the lives of more than 40 students, Federal Government, yesterday, ordered the closure of all the five Federal Government Colleges in the north-eastern part of the country which were said to be located within the high security risk areas.
A statement issued yesterday, by Simeon Nwakaudu, Special Assistant, Media, to the Supervising Minister of Education, Mr. Nyesom Wike, approved the relocation of the students, who are not writing public examinations, to FGGC Bauchi, FGGC Bajoga, FGC Maiduguri, FSTC Kafanchan and FSTC Dayi.
Affected schools
The schools that were shut down with immediate effect are Federal Government Girls College, Munguno; Federal Government College, Potiskum; Federal Government College, Buni Yadi; Federal Science and Technical College, Lassa and Federal Science and Technical College, Michika.
The Minister directed that candidates who registered for WASSCE, NECO SSCE and BECE in FGGC Potiskum should have their examination centres relocated to FGGC Bauchi, while those from FGGC Munguno and FGC Buni Yadi should also be relocated.
He further approved that other students who are affected by the shutting down of the schools, but are not writing public examinations be relocated to FGGC Bauchi, FGGC Bajoga, FGC Maiduguri, FSTC Kafanchan and FSTC Dayi.
He, however, left the choice of the school to accommodate affected students at the discretion of parents, but limited to the six listed schools.
It will be recalled that on February 24, gunmen suspected to be Boko Haram insurgents, killed more than 40 pupils in FGC Buni Yadi, Yobe State.
The Minister once again commiserated with families that lost their children during the attack on FGC Buni Yadi.
He said the Federal Ministry of Education will continue to collaborate with all stakeholders to improve security around federal institutions of learning.

Leave a Reply