NIGERIA: Jonathan appoints chairmen of 12 federal hospitals

President Goodluck JonathanPresident Goodluck Jonathan Friday approved the  appointment of chairmen and composition of  12 the Management Boards of  Federal Government owned hospitals across the country.

This was contained in a press statement issued Friday night by the Senator Anyim Pius Anyim, Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF).

Among those appointed as chairmen of Federal Government owned hospitals   are: Dr. Adogbeji Ide, who now presides over the Board of National Orthopaedic Hospital, Enugu; Dr. Gbola Adetunji, Chairman, National Orthopaedic Hospital, Lagos; Alhaji Mohammed Hassan Santana, National Orthopaedic Hospital, Kano and Prince Tony Okam, Chairman, National Women and Children’s Hospital, Abuja.

Others include, Amb. E.E. Imohe, Psychiatric Hospital, Abeokuta; Dr. Abieyuwa Osemwenkha, Psychiatric Hospital, Edo State; Prof. Wale Oladipo, Psychiatric Hospital, Yaba, Lagos; Alhaji Junaidu, Mahmuda, Psychiatric Hospital, Calabar; Engr. Tanko Abdullahi, Psychiatric Hospital, Kware, Sokoto; Rt. Hon. Iheanacho Nwakanma, Psychiatric, Hospital, Enugu; Alhaji Ramallan Yaro, Psychiatric Hospital, Kaduna and Alhaji Kolo Lawan, Psychiatric, Hospital, Maiduguri.

The statement further indicated that the membership of the Management Board of the National Hospital for Women and Children, Abuja, shall include the following other members: Chief Medical Director of the Hospital; the Director of Clinical Services; the Director of Administration; the Director of Finance; the Director of Maintenance; a representative: of the Federal Ministry of Health, the Federal Ministry of Women Affairs and Youth Development, the Federal Ministry of Works and Housing,  National Planning Commission,  Family Support Trust Fund,  the Society of Gynaecology and Obstetrics of Nigeria,  Pharmaceutical Society of Nigeria, Paediatrics Association of Nigeria and National Association of Nigerian Nurses and Midwives.

The stated further showed that the management boards of the affected psychiatric and orthopaedic hospitals shall also include the medical directors, a representative of the Federal Ministry of Health, the Federal Chief Nursing Officer, a member of the Nigeria Medical Association, a representative of the medical school of the affiliate teaching hospital and the Director of Administration of the affiliate teaching hospital.

Leave a Reply