Jonathan sends Chemical Weapons Prohibition Bill to Senate

Goodluck JonathanPRESIDENT Goodluck Jonathan, Wednesday, sent two executive bills to the Senate for consideration and enactment into law.

He also  requested the upper legislative chamber in another letter, to confirm his nomination of four Non-Executive members of the Board of Central Bank of Nigeria, CBN.

Jonathan, in the bills which were titled: “Chemical Weapons Prohibition Bill,2012” and “Pension Reform Bill” respectively, and read on the floor of the Senate plenary by the Senate President, David Mark, urged the Senate to in its usual manner, expedite action towards the passage of the two bills.

“While I hope that the Bills will receive the usual expeditious attention of the Distinguished members of the Senate, please, do accept, Distinguished Senate President, the assurances of my highest consideration,” the two letters conveying the bills quoted the President as saying.

In the letter requesting the confirmation of four Non-Executive Members of the Board of Central Bank of Nigeria, President Jonathan explained that his action followed the expiration of “statutory terms of appointments of some non-executive members of the Board of central bank of Nigeria and the vacancy occasioned when the member representing the South-South geo-political zone on the board vacated the position in 2009.

He listed the four nominees as Muhammed Musa Kafarati, representing North-East, Collons Chike Chikelube, representing South-East, Adaba Anthony Adeiza, representing North-Central and Ayuli Jemide, to represent the South-South.

“I write to forward the under-listed names for the kind consideration of the Senate in accordance the provisions of the CBN Act 2007,” he explained.

Leave a Reply