List of Nigerian President 1960-

Nigeria had been under 4 republics, faced several coups and 16 years of military rule. Even with the shift to democracy, stability is still yet to be found in Nigeria.

This is because of issues of ethnicity and religion play the key roles on the issue of political leadership. The marginalization of certain tribes in Nigerian politics has led to the Biafran war (1967- 1970) and to the Niger- Delta crises today. Governments have either sided one group over others or played both sides of the game to prevent conflict. There has been an outcry over the dominance of the PDP (Peoples Democratic Party), retired military officers, and both the Hausa and Yoruba tribes in politics.
 The current President, Umaru Musa Yar’ Adua is of Fulani descent, was never in the military, is university educated (holds an M. Sc in Analytical Chemistry) and chose as his Vice President, former Bayelsa state Governor, Goodluck Jonathan- the first time ever for a minority group to be given a stake in nigerian national politics. The prudence of the President is shown in the high level of development and financial accountability in Katsina state when he was governor from 1999 to 2006.  Critics raise issue that it was during his time in office that the Shari’a penal code was adopted in Katsina state and that this mirrors his key interests and goals. Critics also cite his election to office as being fraudulent (he got 70% of the votes).

  Term Name Party  Official Title
 1 1960   James Robertson  independent  Governors-General
 2 1960-1963   Nnamdi Azikiwe  Nigerian National Democratic Party  Governors-General
 3 1963-1966  Nnamdi Azikiwe  Nigerian National Democratic Party  Presidents
 4 1966  Johnson Aguiyi-Ironsi  Military  Head of State
 5 1966-1975  Colonel Yakubu Gowon  Military  Head of State
 6 1975-1976  Murtala Mohammed  Military  Head of State
 7 1976-1979  General Olusegun Obasanjo  Military  Head of State
 8 1979-1983  Shehu Shagari  National Party of Nigeria  Presidents
 9 1983-1985  Major General Mohammed Buhari  Military  Presidents
 10 1985-1993  Major General Ibrahim Babangida  Military  Presidents
 11  1993  Ernest Shonekan  independent  Presidents
 12  1993-1998  General Sani Abacha  Military  Presidents
 13  1998-1999  General Abdulsalam Abubakar  Military  Presidents
 14  1999-2007  Olusegun Obasanjo  People’s Democratic Party  Presidents
 15  2007-  Umaru Yar’Adua  People’s Democratic Party  Presid

    Note :Heads of state from January 1966 until October 1979 and from December 1983 did not officially use the title of president.

Leave a Reply